News

BAN vs SA- Mustafizur Rahman ruled out first ODI

BAN vs SA

According to The Daily Star, the left-arm pacer twisted his ankle while warming up during a practice session on Saturday and hasn’t yet undergone a scan to determine the extent of his injury.

“Mustafizur twisted his ankle during warm-up before training. He won’t play tomorrow,” Minhajul Abedin, the Bangladesh chief selector and team manager, told The Daily Star.

“We can’t tell yet if he will be available for the rest of the series. We’ll know more after we go to Cape Town [for the second ODI in Paarl], we haven’t done a scan yet,” he added.

While the injury to Mustafizur is a major setback, Bangladesh will be bolstered by the presence of ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza. Tamim Iqbal too could be back in action after missing the second Test following the thigh injury.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top