First ‘Brain Fade’, Now ‘Big Mistake’, Steve Smith In Eye Of The Storm Again

Steve Smith dubbed his first act of reckless behaviour on a cricket field as a “brain fade” moment and after finding himself in hot water again after admitting to planned ball-tampering, the 28-year-old referred to it as a “big mistake”. At the time, Smith got away scot-free but this time his position as the Australian cricket team captain seems untenable. Smith and team-mate Cameron Bancroft sensationally admitted to ball-tampering charges during the third Test against South Africa in Newlands, Cape Town.

The Australian captain was seen looking for signals from his dressing room on whether to review his leg-before dismissal during the second innings of the Bengaluru Test against India in March last year.

Smith later termed it as a ‘brain fade’ moment and admitted to looking towards their dressing room for assistance over whether to ask for a review of the umpire’s decision.

Incredibly, the International Cricket Council (ICC) took no action against Smith following the DRS controversy, however, the right-hander might not be as lucky this time around.

Smith, who has led the team since 2015 and is the team’s best batsman, confessed to reporters in Cape Town on Saturday that the ball-tampering had been orchestrated by himself and senior players.

“The leadership group knew about it.”

However, the skipper said he would not resign and that coach Darren Lehmann was not part of the conspiracy.

“No, I still think I’m the right person for the job,” said the 28-year-old.


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top