Cricketers History

History Of Indian Women’s Cricket

History Of Indian Womens Cricket


Cricket – The game which won million hearts and the only sport that unites Indians. It was introduced into INDIA during 1700s by British people and first match was played in 1721. India’s first official team was formed in 1911 and first debut was made in 1932 against England.  Men playing cricket is okay in a country like India but what about women? Were they encouraged? Did we feel a Sport like Cricket is a women’s cup of tea?

Now I will tell you from where the concept of Women’s Cricket started and how it evolved.

The young Tasmanian, Lily Poulett Harris, who captained the Oyster Cove team from Australia are the ones who founded Women’s Cricket in 1894. After their death, Their team formed in the colonies. Later in 1905,  Victoria Women’s Cricket Association and in 1931, Australian Women’s Cricket Association were founded. It was in 1958, International women’s cricket council was formed and since then women’s cricket is being played by England, Australia, New Zealand, The west Indies, South Africa, Netherlands and Demark.

Test matches are played by Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Ireland, South Africa and the West Indies. It was introduced in India by Mr. Mahendra Kumar Sharma, the founder secretary, registered the Women’s Cricket Association of India under the Societies Act at Lucknow in 1973.

Though women’s cricket was there in India since long time, no much recognition and Importance was given which was given to Men’s Cricket. Indians felt it was a sport for men. Now the views are changed.

If we check the matches they played till now, they are 36 test matches out of which they won 5 games, lost 6 games and 25 of them were Draw matches. Team played 241 ODI out of which they won 132 and lost 104 games. 2017 was the year during which every Indian felt proud of their Women’s cricket Team. Team won 12 matches out of 13 matches. If we see the stats of T20Is, team won 37 matches out of 73. Team has given made upto Runner’s up finish during the 2005 World cup match. It reached upto Semifinals in the years 2009 and 2010 in all editions of World T20. India even stood as a champion in every edition of 50 over version of Asia Cup in the years 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012 & 2016. And the list goes on…. Even in the ODI, India won against Bangladesh, Ireland, Denmark, Netherlands and Pakisthan and very few against the Australian team. The success rates overall being less with the countries like England and Australia.

India stands No 4 in the  ICC Women’s Rankings based on the results from Tests, ODI and T20Is. First one being the Australia, followed by England and New Zealand. Team is named as the “Women in Blue”.

Team Consists of players as follows who were trained by the Head coach Tushar Arothe and Fielding Coach Biju George.

Mithali Raj – Test and ODI Captain  &  Harmanpreet Kaur – T20I Captain

BatsWomen: Thirush Kamini, Veda Krishnamurthy. Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Poonam Raut, Vellaswamy Vanitha, Latika Kumari, Jemimah Rodrigues.

Wicket Keeper: Sushma Verma, Ravi Kalpana, Nuzhat Parveen, Taniya Bhatia.

All Rounders: Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil.

Bowlers: Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Mansi Joshi, Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav      , Radha Yadav.

Mithali Raj – The test and ODI captain once said that before 2017 worldcup there was no much support from neither the people nor the government. When she left for worldcup from Mumbai she could see no media to see them off. But when she returned to India on 25th July’17, she saw nearly hundred journalists waiting at 2:30am because the Team made to finals. That is the time craze started. They were flooded with interviews. She even said that 2017 is the year which brought huge difference to our sport. She experienced something new which she never experienced though she was playing from 18 years. Since then Indians started to believe more that there is nothing in this world that Women cant do. To  day all the women cricket players are encouraged both emotionally and Financially by both Government and people.

Good Day Fellas!!


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top