2017 Vijay Hazare Trophy – Tamil Nadu defeat Bengal by 37 runs in grand finale to left title

2017 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Tamil Nadu won the Vijay Hazare trophy after beating Bengal by 37 runs in the final of the 2017 edition. With this win, they become the only team to win the tournament five times.

Chasing total of 218 to win, Tamil Nadu opening bowlers struck early as they dismissed the dangerous Abhimanyu Easwaran and Agniv Pan inside the first 5 overs with the scorecard reading just 4 runs. The bowled brilliantly and made sure that the batsmen didn’t get off to a good start in the first ten overs.

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary and Shreevats Goswami tried to pull things back before Rahil Shah had the latter caught by Vijay Shankar for 23. Soon after, Tiwary was castled by Vijay Shankar for 32 and that shifted the momentum in favour of TN. Anustup Majumdar and Sudip Chatterjee revived the Bengal innings and put them back on track.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top