Axar Patel named Jadeja’s replacement for Pallekele Test

Axar Patel named Jadeja's replacement for Pallekele Test

Team Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

All-rounder Axar Patel on Wednesday (August 9) was named as a replacement for Ravindra Jadeja for the third Test against Sri Lanka, set to begin on on August 12 in Pallekele.

Record as 30 One-Day Internationals and seven Twenty20 Internationals for India, but is yet to play a Test. He has been drafted into the Test squad after Jadeja was suspended for the final Test of the series after collecting his sixth demerit point for throwing the ball back at the batsman.

During the second Test in Colombo, Jadeja had fielded the ball off his own bowling and threw it at Malinda Pushpakumara, the batsman, “in a dangerous manner”, as per the report of on-field umpires Rod Tucker and Bruce Oxenford. The act was in breach of article 2.2.8 of the player’s Code of Conduct which deals with “throwing a ball (or any other item of cricket equipment such as a water bottle) at or near a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire, Match Referee or any other third person in an inappropriate and/or dangerous manner during an international match”.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top