India agree to play three Tests vs South Africa, 1st in Cape Town from January 5

Ind v Sa

Cricket South Africa (CSA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ended the suspense and announced the fixtures for India’s upcoming tour of South Africa. The tour will include three Tests, six ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals, with the first Test to begin in Cape Town on January 5.

Cricket South Africa, in a press release, said that the dates and venues for all the remaining fixtures will be confirmed shortly. India will arrive in South Africa on December 28 and their tour will begin with a two-day practice match at Boland Park, Benoni on December 30-31.

The release further stated, “The time constraints faced by India have forced us to reduce the Test matches to three while increasing white ball cricket to six ODIs and three T20I matches.”

India’s last tour to South Africa was in 2013 for two Tests and three ODIs. India lost the ODIs 2-0 while they lost the Tests 1-0.

South Africa have a lengthy home summer in 2017/18. Bangladesh will play two Tests, three ODIs and a Twenty20 International starting from September 28.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top