Sachin Baby named Kerala captain for 2017-18 Ranji season

Sachin Baby named Kerala captain for 2017-18 Ranji season

Squad: Sachin Baby (C), Sanju Samson, Rohan Prem, Arun Karthik, Jalaj Saxena, Mohammed Azharuddeen (wk), Akshay Chandran, Salman Nizar, Sandeep Warrier, Basil Thampi, Karaparambil Monish, MD Nidheesh, Rahul P, Vishnu Vinod, Mohammed Asif

Kerala have opted for a change in leadership for the upcoming Ranji season with Sachin Baby replacing Rohan Prem as their skipper.

Basil Thampi and Sandeep Warrier will continue to lead the fast bowling attack whereas Karaparambil Monish is expected to shoulder more responsibility as the lead spinner in the absence of Iqbal Abdulla, who wasn’t even named in the probables. Daryl Ferrario and Sijomon Joseph, who were part of the India Under-19 squad, have been named among the standbys with the former’s presence to be confirmed following a fitness test.

No team ended up with more draws (7) than Kerala last season and as a result, they could finish only fifth in their group and failed to reach the knockouts. Having won only one game, they will hope for a better show this time around having also recruited Dav Whatmore as their head coach.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top