Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, 6th Match – Bangladesh won by 2 wkts

SL 159/7 (20.0 Ovs)
BAN 160/8 (19.5 Ovs)

Bangladesh won by 2 wkts

Shakib – captain, Bangladesh: “You can’t expect more than that in a T20 game. There was everything. Emotions, drama, everything. We are lucky to be on the winning side. Kusal Perera and Thisara Perera batted very well, got themselves into a winning position. I had only one hit before I came into the game, so I knew I wasn’t 100%. It was important to rotate the strike and give it to Mahmudullah. This is one of our best innings in the last five overs. We always had a healthy competition on the ground (with Sri Lanka); outside, we are friends. Emotions take over sometimes. I need to be careful as the captain and the leader of the team. India are a very good side but we have the momentum, so hopefully we can continue the performance. Hopefully the Sri Lankan crowd can come and support us (laughs innocently).”

Perera – captain, Sri Lanka: “Very tough game. Really disappointed. I have to say something about our crowd — thanks for everything. I’m sorry about not making it to the final. I sometimes take some time for my batting, I can do something only after that (what went wrong). 160 is a reasonable target. Last few series, we did well. Really good outcome from our juniors.”
Mahmudullah – Player of the Match: “One of my best innings. when Shakib came into the team, that was a big boost. Players were eager to do well today. My plan was to strike the ball as hard as I can. To see the ball properly and try to hit accordingly. I was quite nervous (in the last few overs). When I and Shakib were there, I was at ease but Shakib’s wicket put pressure on me. Other guys came up to me and believed that we’ll do it. The confusion was that the ball (Mustafizur’s wicket ball) would be the first bumper of the over but it’s in the past now, so let’s forget it.”

Sri Lanka Squad
Playing XI Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (wk), Upul Tharanga, Thisara Perera (c), Jeevan Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep

Bangladesh Squad
Playing XITamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top