Virat Kohli to receive Polly Umrigar Award

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, India’s captain, will be awarded with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award at the BCCI awards on June 12 in Bangalore for his exceptional performances in the 2016-17 and 2017-18 cricketing seasons, the board announced on Thursday.

While Kohli will get be the recipient of the top award in the men’s category for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons respectively, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana are set to be named best international cricketers in the women’s category for the two seasons respectively, with the awards “recognising and honouring the top domestic and international cricketers across all age groups.”

“I congratulate all the winners of the BCCI Annual Awards. The last two years have been fabulous for Indian Cricket with both the men and women’s teams doing very well. We are proud of their achievements and this is our small way of acknowledging their on-field efforts,” Vinod Rai, the chairman of the CoA, said.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top