IPL 2018 – IPL teams could be allowed to retain three players

Dhoni CSK IPL 2018

IPL  2018, the eight IPL teams could be allowed to retain three players each according to reports on Cricinfo following the IPL governing council meeting in Delhi on Tuesday. There will be another meeting again next week to discuss player retention, maximum purse and right-to-match-card rules with a final decision to be taken on November 14 with all eight teams being present.

Three cricketers to get insurance money
Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan will get their long-pending insurance money. The board compensates contracted players in case of IPL non-appearance/unavailability because of injury/accident or illness/sickness. The BCCI will pay Yuvraj Rs 2.5 crore, Zaheer Rs 75 lakh whereas Nehra will get 50 per cent of his dues.

If you dint know actually what happened check this out –
Back in 2014, when the retention policy was initially introduced, each team could retain a maximum of five players with a salary cap of INR 60 crore with an amount deducted for each retained player. For the first player, it was INR 12.5 crore, second player 9.5 crore, Player 3 – 7.5 crore and the fourth and fifth player being 5.5 crore and 4 crore.

The right-to-match-card was also available in the 2014 auction where the teams had the first refusal to its players. A team that retained 3-5 players had one card, teams that retained up to two players had two while those who did not retain any had three cards to effectively buy back their player once the bidding process was completed.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top