Ashwin presented Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Ashwin presented Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

India’s spinner produced some special all-round performances in the voting period and finished 2016 as the top ranked Test bowler.

Tuesday (March 28) Ashwin awarded the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in Dharamsala for being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016. With 48 wickets and 336 runs against his name in eight Tests, and 27 wickets in 19 Twenty20 Internationals during the voting period, Ashwin was a popular choice for the title.

While Rahul Dravid had won the title in 2004, Sachin Tendulkar was presented with the same in 2010. Other recipients of the award include Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

Some Records-

Test Match – Ind v SA (Nov 5-7 2015), Mohali
Match Bowling Figures- 8 for 90
Runs Scored in the Match- 23

Ind v SA (Nov 14-18 2015), Bangalore (4 for 70).
Ind v SA (Nov 25-27 2015), Nagpur (12 for 98).
WI v Ind (Aug 9-13, 2016), Gros Islet (3 for 80).

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top