Duminy to lead South Africa in T20I series against India

Duminy to lead South Africa in T20I series against India

Faf du Plessis remaining unavailable due to his injury, JP Duminy will lead the T20 team, CSA announced on Tuesday (February 13).

“Christiaan Jonker has been one of the most explosive finishers in domestic T20 cricket in recent seasons and his selection, together with that of Junior Dala, gives players who have performed well at franchise level the opportunity to show that they can compete at the highest level. Heinrich Klaasen’s recent performance speaks for itself. Reeza Hendricks gets another opportunity for the same reason, having been the highest runs scorer in this season’s RAM SLAM Challenge,” Linda Zondi, the CSA National Selection Panel Convener, said.

South Africa T20 squad: JP Duminy (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

The three-match T20I series between South Africa and India begins on February 18 in Johannesburg. The second game will be played in Port Elizabeth on February 21 while the final game of the series is scheduled on February 24 in Cape Town.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top