South Africa announce ODI squad for Sri Lanka series

South Africa

South Africa have announced their squad for the upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka, scheduled to commence next month.

“We have taken the strategic decision to rest Imran Tahir so that we can get a clearer picture as to who our best second spinner is to back him up at the World Cup,” selection convenor Linda Zondi said. “Imran will be our first- choice spinner at the World Cup but, if we play him against Sri Lanka, it is unlikely that we will be able to play both Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj.

South Africa’s five-match series against Sri Lanka takes place in Dambulla, Kandy and Colombo between July 29 and August 12.

South Africa’s ODI squad for Sri Lanka series:

Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

Along with the ODI squad, the selectors also announced the South Africa A one-day and four-day game squads (against India). Khaya Zondo has been named captain for both the squads.

South Africa A one-day squad: Khaya Zondo (captain), Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Gihahn Cloete, Theunis de Bruyn, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Pieter Malan, Senuran Muthusamy, Dane Paterson, Rudi Second, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Malusi Siboto

SA A squad (four-day series against India A): Khaya Zondo (captain), Sarel Erwee, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Senuran Muthusamy, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Dane Piedt, Dwaine Pretorius, Rudi Second, Rassie van der Dussen, Malusi Siboto, Shaun von Berg


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top