McClenaghan to represent Sydney Thunder in BBL 2017-18

McClenaghan to represent Sydney Thunder in BBL 2017-18

Mitchell McClenaghan, the New Zealand paceman, has signed with Big Bash League (BBL) franchise Sydney Thunder after a starring performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL) earlier this year.

Mike Hussey, the Thunder’s director of cricket, said McClenaghan would provide a veteran presence. “The club identified the need for a frontline bowler as a top priority for the season,” he said. “I’m looking forward to seeing Mitch in action for the Thunder, he’s a bowler with experience playing in high pressured games at both domestic and international level.

“We’ve been monitoring his situation with New Zealand Cricket and are pleased to be able to bring him to the Big Bash for the summer,” added.

Current Sydney Thunder squad: Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Clint McKay, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Shane Watson, Mitchell McClenaghan

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top