ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017 schedule announced

ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017 schedule announced

India heads Group A which also includes Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand; South Africa leads Group B which comprises Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and PNG

Holly Colvin says Colombo event presents the sides last opportunity to qualify for the ultimate event in women’s cricket.

Group A – India, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand
Group B – South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea

Warm-up matches:
Sunday, 5 February – India v South Africa, P.Sara Stadium; Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA); Ireland v Bangladesh, Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC); Zimbabwe v Scotland, Colombo Cricket Club (CCC); Thailand v PNG, Moors Sports Club.

Tournament fixtures (first round)
Tuesday, 7 February – Sri Lanka v India, P.Sara Stadium; Ireland v Zimbabwe, MCA; South Africa v Pakistan, NCC; Bangladesh v PNG, CCC
Wednesday, 8 February – Pakistan v Bangladesh, P.Sara Stadium; Scotland v South Africa, MCA; Sri Lanka v Ireland, NCC; India v Thailand, CCC
Friday, 10 February – India v Ireland, P.Sara Stadium; Thailand v Zimbabwe, MCA; PNG v Pakistan, NCC; Bangladesh v Scotland, CCC.
Saturday, 11 February – South Africa v Bangladesh, P.Sara Stadium; Scotland v PNG, MCA; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, NCC; Ireland v Thailand, CCC
Monday, 13 February – Zimbabwe v India, P.Sara Stadium; Sri Lanka v Thailand, MCA; South Africa v PNG, NCC; Pakistan v Scotland, CCC

Super Six stage (teams to be confirmed after 13 February matches)
Wednesday, 15 February – Match 21, P.Sara Stadium; Match 22, NCC; Match 23, CCC
Friday, 17 February – Match 24, P.Sara Stadium; Match 25, NCC; Match 26, CCC
Sunday, 19 February – Match 27, P.Sara Stadium; Match 28, NCC; Match 29, CCC
Tuesday, 21 February – FINAL

About the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017

The Women’s World Cup 2017 will get underway on 26 June and culminate with the final at Lord’s on 23 July. Bristol and Derby will host the two semi-finals, while Leicester and Taunton are the other two venues

Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies have qualified automatically after finishing in the top four of the ICC Women’s Championship

The tournament will be played on a single-league format with all the eight sides playing against each other once. The top four sides will progress to the semi-finals

A total of 31 matches will be played, including the two semi-finals and the final

England has twice staged the ICC Women’s World Cup – the inaugural edition in 1973 and then in 1993. Both the times, England won the tournament. England’s third title was in Sydney, Australia, in 2009

Australia will defend the title it won in India in 2013. Australia has also won in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005. New Zealand is the other side to win the event when it lifted the most prestigious trophy in women’s cricket in its backyard in 2000

This will be the third time the event will be organised by the ICC since its merger with the International Women’s Cricket Council in 2005.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top