Cricketers History

22 Interesting Facts About Cricket World Cup

22 Interesting Facts About Cricket World Cup - Crickethistory

22 Interesting facts about cricket world cup :

1. We know everyone is eager to know about when was the first men’s cricket World Cup was played. It was held in England in 1975, four years after the first recognised One-day International had been played in 1971, on the fifth day of a washed out Test between Australia and England in Melbourne.

2. West Indies won the first two tournaments, beating Australia in 1975 and England in 1979 and then lost the 1983 final to India, but have not reached another final since.

3. Allan Border’s Australia won the first of their four titles in 1987, sparking a period of dominance by the side in both one-day and test cricket for the next 20 years.

4. India also won the 2011 tournament. Pakistan (1992) and Sri Lanka (1996) are the only other winners.

5. New Zealand and Australia will host 21 pool matches each, amongst 14 venues, seven in each country. It is the second time the two countries have co-hosted the tournament, having previously done so in 1992.

6. Afghanistan will make their World Cup debut, having played three World Twenty20 tournaments.

7. The Melbourne Cricket Ground, only the second venue after Lord’s in London, to host more than one final.

8. India’s Sachin Tendulkar is the leading run scorer with 2,278 runs in 45 matches and has scored the most centuries (six). He also holds the record for most runs in one tournament, 673 from 11 matches in 2003.

Related : Top 10 Batsmen with the most number of fours in Career

9. Australia’s Glenn McGrath has the most wickets, 71 in 39 matches. McGrath also has the best bowling figures of 7-15 against Namibia in 2003.

10. South Africa’s Gary Kirsten has the highest score in a World Cup match, making 188 not out against UAE in 1996.

11. The highest score in a World Cup match is 413-5 by India against Bermuda in 2007, while the lowest is 36 by Canada against Sri Lanka in 2003.

12. Australian wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist has the most dismissals, 52 from 31 matches (45 catches, seven stumpings), though he could be overtaken by Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara (46) in this tournament.

Related : Top 10 Most Stumpings Record In Career

13. Australia’s Ricky Ponting has taken 28 catches, the most by a non-wicketkeeper.

14. Out of the ten editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup tournaments played and concluded till now, Australia has won four times, followed by the West Indies and India (twice each) and then Pakistan and Sri Lanka (once each).

15. Indian player Chetan Sharma is also known as World Cup hat-trick man for his record in the ICC World Cup.

16. In the World Cup 1987, Sharma took the first hat-trick in the history of tournament when he clean bowled Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith and Ewen Chatfield of New Zealand off consecutive balls.

17. South Africa’s Gary Kirsten has the highest score in a World Cup match, making 188 not-out against UAE in 1996.

18. Clive Lloyd of West Indies and Ricky Ponting of Australia are the only captains to win the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy twice.

19. The highest score of World Cup matches is 433-5 in India verses Bermuda match in 2007 and the lowest is 36 between Canada and Sri Lanka in 2003.

20. Kepler Wessels is the only player to represent two countries in the history of ODI.

21. He played for Australia from 1982 to 1985 and then represented South Africa in 1991.

22. In 1996, Nolan Clarke of the Netherlands became the oldest player (47 years, 257 days) to play in a World Cup.



Untold Story Part 1, 2, 3 ,4 ,5, 6, 7, 8,9 & 10:

WORLD CUP 2019: Full fixture list

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top