South Africa’s quicks take early charge in Wellington

South Africa's quicks take early charge in Wellington

New Zealand v South Africa, 2nd Test, Wellington, 1st day

At the toss, again won by South Africa, Faf du Plessis said he thought the ball could swing in slightly warmer temperatures than of late and he was proved right as all three of his quicks found movement. He was also keen to have an early dart at a vulnerable-looking New Zealand line-up, without the services of Ross Taylor, and his move was justified when they had three wickets before the hour-mark.

Rabada was first change this time having taken the new ball in Dunedin but wasted little time in making an impact – a seismic blow to New Zealand’s hopes – swinging a full delivery sharply back at Williamson to trap the New Zealand captain lbw. A technological malfunction followed after Williamson called for the DRS with no ball-tracking available; the on-field decision was upheld (it looked as though it would have been in any event) and New Zealand were not docked a review, but that was small compensation for losing their captain.

New Zealand 1 Tom Latham, 2 Jeet Raval, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Neil Broom, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 James Neesham, 7 BJ Watling (wk), 8 Colin de Grandhomme, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Neil Wagner, 11 Jeetan Patel

South Africa 1 Stephen Cook, 2 Dean Elgar, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 Faf du Plessis (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 Temba Bavuma, 7 Quinton de Kock (wk), 8 Vernon Philander, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Morne Morkel, 11 Kagiso Rabada

Read More :

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top